ALA Beta Phi Mu Award: 2014

2014 Recipient


CHICAGO – Dr. Beth M. Paskoff, director, Louisiana State University School of Library and Information Science, Baton Rouge, La., is the 2014 recipient of the Beta Phi Mu Award. This award is given annually to a library school faculty member or to an individual for distinguished service to education for librarianship and consists of a 24 K gold-framed citation and $1,000 contributed by Beta Phi Mu, the library and information studies honor society.
“The 2014 Beta Phi Mu Award Jury chose to honor Beth M. Paskoff for her leadership of the LSU School of Library and Information Science during times of challenge and adversity and her longtime commitment to education in librarianship,” said John A. Moorman, jury chair.
Throughout her career, Dr. Paskoff has maintained a service agenda connected to library education, recruitment for the profession and professional associations. She is a past president of the Louisiana Library Association; has served Beta Phi Mu as a director, vice-president, president and past president; has been named as a Distinguished Member of the Academy of Health Professionals by the Medical Library Association; and has received numerous awards throughout her career.
Members of the 2014 Beta Phi Mu Award Jury are: John A. Moorman, Chair, Williamsburg, Va.; Elizabeth S. Aversa, Tuscaloosa, Ala.; Roberto Carlos Delgadillo, University of California – Davis, Woodland, Calif.; Carol Pitts Diedrichs, Ohio State University, Cincinnati, Ohio; and Neely Tang, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.
The ALA Beta Phi Mu Award was presented on Sunday, June 29, at the ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas.