Beta Phi Mu was founded in 1948 by a group of leading librarians and library educators to recognize and encourage scholastic achievement among library and information studies students. Our name comes from the initials of the Greek words Bibliothekarios philax mathesis, meaning “librarians are the guardians of knowledge.” The motto, Aliis inserviendo consumor , meaning “Consumed in the service of others” was selected by the founders based on the concept of the dedication of librarians and other information professionals to the service of others. Eligibility for membership in Beta Phi Mu is by invitation of the faculty from institutions where the American Library Association, or other recognized accrediting agency approved by the Beta Phi Mu Executive Board, has accredited or recognized a professional degree program.

Beta Phi Mu Announces the Spring/Summer 2014 edition
of The Pipeline is published!

Use this link -  Spring/Summer 2014 Pipeline – to view it. Past issues of The Pipeline are available here.


Congratulations to the 2014 Beta Phi Mu Scholarship Award Winners.

Use this link for the complete listing.